# MINUTES OF REGULAR PLANNING BOARD MEETING OF APRIL 9, 2012 To be held at 7:00 p.m., Planning Board's Meeting Room #315, Town Office Building 400 Slocum Road, Dartmouth, MA

#### Planning Board

Mr. Joseph E. Toomey, Jr., Chairman Mrs. Lorri-Ann Miller, Clerk Mr. John V. Sousa Mr. Joel Avila Mr. Stanley Mickelson

# **Planning Staff**

Mr. Donald A. Perry, Planning Director Absent – Mrs. Joyce J. Couture, Planning Aide

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with all Planning Board members and the Planning Director present. Ms. Jane Kirby, Principal Clerk for the Zoning Board of Appeals, was present in Ms. Couture's absence.

#### **Administrative Items**

# (1) Approval of Minutes

Regular Meeting of March 26, 2012

A motion was made by John Sousa, duly seconded by Lorri-Ann Miller for discussion, and unanimously voted (5-0) to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of March 26, 2012.

# (2) Correspondence

Dartmouth Board of Appeals Notice of Decisions
Dartmouth Board of Appeals Notice of Public Hearings
Dartmouth Conservation Commission Notice of Public Hearings
Fall River Board of Appeals Notice of Public Hearings

A motion was made by Lorri-Ann Miller, duly seconded by John Souza and voted (5-0) to acknowledge and file the above referenced correspondence.

# (3) Release of Lots in the "Preserve at High Hill" Subdivision

The Planning Director stated that this was a three lot O.S.R.D. subdivision located off High Hill Road and that the applicant is requesting the lots be released for building and sale. He noted that the subdivision did not have any roadway required (it has a common driveway), so no surety is necessary to release these lots. He further explained that the few improvements remaining as conditions of the Certificate of Action (fencing, street trees, open space bounds) are still required prior to the issuance of final occupancy permits.

The Planning Director recommended that the Board release Lots 1 through 3 and forward the lot release to the Building Department along with the letter from Long Built Homes. (Letter dated March 29, 2012 to Donald Perry from Lee Castignetti, Jr. regarding compliance to the Board's Certificate of Action Conditions No. 4 and Condition No. 5)

A motion was made by Lorri-Ann Miller, duly seconded by John Souza, and voted (5-0) to release Lots 1 through 3 and to forward the lot release along with the letter from Long Built Homes to the Building Department.

# (4) Election of Planning Board Officers

The Planning Director explained that the Planning Board elects its officers and delegates for the following year after the annual election, which was held on April 3, 2012.

# (OFFICERS)

#### Chairman

John Sousa motioned to nominate Joel Avila as Chairman, which was duly seconded by Lorri-Ann Miller.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Joel Avila as Chairman.

#### Vice Chairman

John Sousa motioned to nominate Joseph Toomey, Jr. as Vice Chairman, which was duly seconded by Joel Avila.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Joseph Toomey, Jr. as Vice Chairman.

#### Clerk

John Sousa motioned to nominate Lorri-Ann Miller as Clerk, which was duly seconded by Joel Avila.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Lorri-Ann Miller as Clerk.

#### (DELEGATES)

#### SRPEDD Commission

Joel Avila motioned to nominate Lorri-Ann Miller as the delegate for the SRPEDD Commission, which was duly seconded by John Sousa.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Lorri-Ann Miller as delegate to the SRPEDD Commission.

#### Smart Growth Committee (40R)

John Sousa motioned to nominate Stanley Mickelson as the delegate for the Smart Growth Committee, which was duly seconded by Joel Avila.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Stanley Mickelson as the delegate for the Smart Growth Committee (40R).

#### Soil Conservation Board

John Sousa motioned to nominate Joseph Toomey, Jr. as the delegate for the Soil Conservation Board, which was duly seconded by Lorri-Ann Miller.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Joseph Toomey, Jr. as the delegate for the Soil Conservation Board.

#### Municipal Facilities Committee

Lorri-Ann Miller motioned to nominate Joseph Toomey, Jr. as the delegate for the Municipal Facilities Committee, which was duly seconded by Joel Avila.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Joseph Toomey, Jr. as the delegate for the Municipal Facilities Committee.

#### Affordable Housing Partnership

Lorri-Ann Miller motioned to nominate John Sousa as the delegate for the Affordable Housing Partnership, which was duly seconded by Joel Avila.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect John Sousa as delegate for the Affordable Housing Partnership.

#### Community Preservation Committee

Stanley Mickelson motioned to nominate John Sousa as the delegate for the Community Preservation Committed, which was duly seconded by Lorri-Ann Miller.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect John Sousa as delegate for the Community Preservation Committee.

#### Agricultural Preservation Trust Council

John Sousa motioned to nominate Lorri-Ann Miller as the delegate for the Agricultural Preservation Trust Council, which was duly seconded by Stanley Mickelson.

No other nominations were received and it was voted (5-0) to elect Lorri-Ann Miller as the delegate for the Agricultural Preservation Trust Council.

In a roll call vote, a motion was made by John Sousa, seconded by Joseph Toomey, Jr. and unanimously voted (5-0), to recess the Planning Board's regular meeting at 7:15 p.m. in order to go into a public hearing<sup>1</sup> at 7:30 p.m. concerning five proposed articles which would amend the Dartmouth Zoning By-laws.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> For more information, see minutes of Planning Board's Public Hearing of April 9, 2012 "Five Proposed Zoning Articles"

Lorri-Ann Miller – yes; Joseph Toomey Jr. – yes; John Sousa – yes; Stanley Mickelson – yes; Joel Avila – yes

The regular meeting resumed at 11:20 p.m.

With no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Lorri-Ann Miller, duly seconded by John Souza, and unanimously voted (5-0) to adjourn this evening's regular meeting at 11:22 p.m.

Prior to adjourning, Mr. Avila noted that the next Planning Board meeting is scheduled for April 23, 2012 in Room #315, Town Office Building, 400 Slocum Road.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane Kirby, Principal Clerk Zoning Board of Appeals

\_\_\_\_\_\_